WHY HOLD ON TO THE PAIN?

I’ve forgotten how much I hurt back then. Most of the time when I’m writing I think I remember all the pain but I don’t, not really. Once in a while I’ll hear a song and for some reason it will cause just a glimmer of the hurt to rise to the surface of my conscience and I’ll be reminded once again.

But most of the time, time has dulled the pain and I guess time has healed the pain. I don’t know, maybe I should try to forget it. After all, it’s a new day, a new life, a new chance, why hold on to the hurt?

I was listening to this song by Hinder the other day and it brought back just a little of the hurt from my “troubled past.”

The song “Running In The Rain” may sound like a suicide song, but I like to think of it as a suicide prevention song. It’s pleading with those of us who are hurting and wanting to end it all to wait, something better will come. Remember the little things that make you happy. … Well, that’s my take on the song. Anyhow, here are the lyrics to “Running In The Rain” by Hinder. the link below should take you to Youtube so you can listen to it.

“Running In The Rain” By Hinder
She cuts herself to forget him
And every time her wounds get deeper
Tonights the night she’s gonna shed her skin
Cause she’s thinkin that he doesn’t need her
She’s wishin all this would end
And she’s gonna try to take her own life again

Wait, I know your hearts been shattered
But there’s someone worth the wait
There’s so much more that matters
And I know you will be alright, just try
to love the little things in life
Like running in the rain

He drinks alone to forget her
And every time the room starts spinning
He starts to thinkin ’bout where they were
When she told him that she doesn’t need him
He’s wishin all this would end
And he’s gonna try to take his own life again

Wait, I know your hearts been shattered
But there’s someone worth the wait
There’s so much more that matters
And I know you will be alright, just try
to love the little things in life
Like running in the rain

She’s wishin all this would end
And he’s gonna try to take his own life again

Wait, I know your hearts been shattered
But there’s someone worth the wait
There’s so much more that matters
And I know you will be alright, just try
to love the little things in life
Like running in the rain

Running in the rain

But I know you will be alright, just try
to love the little things in life
Like running in the rain

~ by vincent on February 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “WHY HOLD ON TO THE PAIN?”

  1. Wow! That’s just what I needed right now Vincent.

    Thank you. 🙂

    – Phoenix

  2. I’m starting to realize the only way to out of my pain is allow myself to fully know…. It’s hard to allow myself to know What I already know and allow myself to feel the pain…. But also not let the pain take my few good moments away…. I loved your post…. I loved your honesty!

Leave a comment